Taiki Waititi and Sterlin Harjo to Receive ICG Publicists Television Showpersons Award – Deadline

Sterling Harjo and Taika Waititi, co-creators and executive producers of the award-winning comedy series Reservation dogsare set to receive the TV Presenter Award at the ICG Publicists Awards next week.

The couple will be honored at the group’s 59th annual awards luncheon on March 25 at the Beverly Hilton.

“Reservation Dogs”
Shane Brown/FX

FX’ networks Reservation dogs follows four native teenagers from rural Oklahoma as they rob, steal and save their way to the exotic, mysterious and distant lands of California. D’Pharaoh Woon-A-Tai, Paulina Alexis, Devery Jacbos and the Lane Factor star.

2022 Awards Season Schedule – Dates for the Oscars, SAG, BAFTAs and more

The series, which debuted in August on Hulu, won a pair of Independent Spirit Awards this month, a Gotham Award and was named one of AFI’s Top 10 Programs of 2021, among many other accolades . It’s also for a WGA award this weekend.

“While we look forward to celebrating publicists, we are also thrilled to recognize the showmanship of Sterlin Harjo and Taika Waititi for co-creating the innovative and critically acclaimed film. Reservation Dogs,said Tim Menke, who announced the honor with fellow awards chair Sheryl Main. “We commend them for advancing the portrayal of Indigenous peoples on television. Reservation dogs is fascinating television at its best for all audiences.

ICG Publicists Guild

Waititi won an Adapted Screenplay Oscar for 2019 JoJo Rabbit and is an EP on FX’s What we do in the shadows. He also stars in and EP the new HBO Max comedy Our flag means death and is writing and directing the next MCU sequel Thor: Love and Thunder. Harjo is a writer-director-producer whose latest feature, the documentary love and fury, examines contemporary Aboriginal identity and art.

The annual ICG Publicist Awards honor excellence in advertising and promotion, photography and journalism for motion pictures and television programs.

Francis Ford Coppola will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award at the ICG Publicists Awards, and MGM’s Michael De Luca and Pamela Abdy will receive this year’s Motion Picture Showpersons Award at the ceremony.

Previous Director Sir Steve McQueen will be knighted at Windsor Castle
Next Weston: How buy now, pay later loans could alter credit | Lifestyles